Adopt-A- Family is coordinated by the DHSS, Division of State Service Centers, under leadership of the Human Services Council, Inc., a 501c3 advisory board. This relationship allows for a public-private partnership that works to support families throughout the year. Adopt-A- Family is completely funded by individuals, community agencies, churches, and corporations with administrative support from DHSS/DSSC. Therefore, all donations are managed by the Human Services Council, Inc. and 100% of all donations are used to provide direct support to needy families.

Stay Connected

Cecelia Sanders


Highmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Delores Tatman (Co-Vice President)



Board of Directors and Staff

Delema M. Lott

Retired - Cape Henlopen School District

Edward Wat (Treasurer)


DuPont Company

Amber Newcomb


Not pictured

Elizabeth Metzler

Retired - Contact Lifeline

2018 Adopt-A-Family

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Not pictured: Blanche Creech, Amber Newcomb, Lakisha Selby

Lakisha Selby Chester County Children Youth & Families & Salvation Army

Not pictured

Jean S. Briggs

Seaford School District

Joseph Dunbar, Co-Owner

We Care Child Care Developing Center

Troy S. Rainsberg (President)

Horizon Services, Inc.

Blanche Creech

Peoples Place

Not pictured